Horror Movies – Part 6

Standard

Series, Miniseries and Anthology Movies

There are tons of great visual media out there to watch this time of year, from dark, supernatural TV series to miniseries and beyond. Here I am going to list some of my favorites, some staples in my DVD case or oft borrowed from family members willing to never again see whatever it was that was lent. (Seriously, though, I do mean to return it. Sorry it’s taking so long. 🙂 ).

Television Series

Supernatural (2005-Present). I LOVE this show! I became hooked on it since first seeing season 4 and had to go back and re-watch it from the first season. This show is dark in places, tackling subjects such as family, friends, trust and loyalty as well sacrifice and the battle between good and evil, both internal and external. There are ghosts, monsters (although I do not like their take on werewolves), pagan gods, witches angels and demons. It is also funny, containing strange but hilarious situations like my favorites episodes: Ghostfacers (Season 3), The French Mistake (Season 6), Frontierland (Season 6), Sam Interrupted (Season 5), Yellow Fever (Season 4), and Season 7: Time for a Wedding (Season 7) just to name a few. There is kick-ass classic rock music to add to the appeal. I recommend this show for those of you who enjoy a great mix of drama, horror, and comedy.

Kingdom Hospital (2004). Just 13 episodes comprise this series. While it was short lasted, it did leave an impression on me. There are two hospitals, one that is only evident to the living, conscious people and another that is home to the ghosts and a comatose patient. There are also secrets lurking among the corridors. Sadly, Kingdom Hospital was not renewed for a second season and all we have are the handful of episodes that aired in spring-summer of 2004.

Other Television series: The Walking Dead (2010-Present), The Twilight Zone (1959-1964, 1985-1989, 2002), One Step Beyond (1959-1961), Outer Limits (1963-1965, 1995-2002), Beyond Belief: Fact or Fiction (1997-2002), Tales from the Crypt (1989-1996).

Miniseries

It (1990). Based on the Stephen King of the same name. This was my first ever Stephen King miniseries, it might be the first Stephen King movie I had ever seen. It scared the…it was very scary. Tim Curry is truly frightening as Pennywise the Clown. In fact, just seeing the picture of him in full make-up from that movie makes me jump and give a mental, high-pitched YIKES! This movie is probably the reason for many cases of coulrophobia, it is probably the cause of mine.  It is about a group of children living in the fictional town of Derry. They are misfits and become fast friends, each experiencing a run-in with Pennywise. All but one of them end up leaving the town and it isn’t until Mike Hanlon calls them to tell them Pennywise has returned that they remember their time in Derry. This movie has some really scary parts, one that still gets me is where Eddie is in the showers and Pennywise appears from one of the drains.

Intensity (1997). Based on the novel of the same name by Dean Koontz. I saw this when it aired and enjoyed it so much that I had to read the novel. Both are great, in my opinion. The main character, Chyna Shepherd, is staying with her friend, being invited to Thanksgiving dinner. Sometime during the night, the house is broken into and Chyna’s friend, Laura, is murdered along with her whole family. Chyna manages to escape notice by hiding in the killer’s van. From there on, Chyna is along for the ride and she discovers more and more about the serial killer. It is a fast-paced movie filled with twisting turns and edge-of-your-seat intensity.

Other miniseries: ‘Salem’s Lot (2004), Nightmares and Dreamscapes (2006), The Shining (1997), Rose Red (2002).

Anthology Movies

Trick ‘r Treat (2007). This movie has four interwoven stories in it, concerning Halloween, with a mysterious little trick-or-treater by the name of Sam who ties all the stories together. Sometimes dark and creepy and sometimes funny, it is a favorite annual watch. Not everything is as it seems in this movie. Two of my favorite tales are The Principal and The School Bus Massacre Revisited.

Creepshow (1982). This movie contains five tales introduced in comic book style. And true to its name, this movie is creepy. From the dark family drama of “Father’s Day” to the melancholy “The Lonesome Death of Jordy Verrill” and the OCD riddled fear in “They’re Creeping Up On You”, this movie has a variety of scares. I still cannot watch this movie alone and by far, the scariest one for me is “The Crate”. Trivia: This movie was written by Stephen King and directed by George A. Romero and played homage to E.C. and DC Comics of the 1950s. Also, little Billy, the boy at the beginning of the movie and owner of the forbidden comic is 9-year-old Joe King, also known as Joe Hill.

Other anthology movies: Tales From the Darkside: The Movie (1990), Creepshow 2 (1987), Spooks and Creeps (1999?).

This concludes my Horror Movie Series. I hope that you all enjoyed reading them as much as I did writing them. It was fun to go over my favorite movies, share them with you. And if you have any favorites that you’d like to share with me, please leave them in the comments. Thanks. 🙂

4 responses »

  1. The original version of The Twilight Zone was the creepiest show ever for me. I used to watch it on one of these classic channels late at night when everyone fell asleep. I’ll never forget one episode where a salesman was driving on a deserted road when he sees a woman by the side of the road thumbing a hitch. He ignored her and kept going on his way. Later that night, on the same road, the woman shows up again. It was one of the creepiest episodes of the series!

    • I don’t think I’ve seen that one but it does seem very creepy! I have to see if I can find that one. Thanks. I liked the one with the watch that stopped time and then the watch gets broken, leaving the guy alone among all the people frozen in time.

  2. I’m one of the few people who haven’t seen It, and this post has convinced me I need to. I remember seeing Intensity when it first aired, and it had me on the edge of my seat! I read the book as well, and it’s one of the few instances when I actually liked the movie better, though the book was also good. It’s been many years since I’ve seen Creepshow, but I remember it being very scary. I’ve really enjoyed reading your horror movie series, Melissa!

Leave a reply

