Love Stories Part 2: Severus and Lily

Standard

Okay, I’m a bit of a Potterhead.  I own and I have read the whole series several times, I have the movies and there was the one time that I crocheted a Gryffindor scarf. There has been a little bit of an uproar lately about the romance between Ron and Hermione after J.K. Rowling admitted that she regrets the characters becoming a couple. But I’m not going to discuss that romance, although it is one that divides the fans of the series. I’m going to talk about the relationship of Severus Snape and Lily Potter.

It’s there, hidden beneath the plots and subplots of the series, behind everything Snape does. He has an almost tangible dislike for Harry since the very first moment they meet. Harry looks very much like his father, Snape’s childhood nemesis and tormentor, but as is so often said he has his mother’s eyes. And, as it’s discovered in the final book of the series, Snape was very much in love with Lily, although a friendship between the two is mentioned in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

The story of the relationship unfolds in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, after Harry finds Snape dying. He collects his memories in a flask and gives them to Harry. In chapter 33, Harry discovers by way of the pensieve used to view Snape’s memories everything Severus has done, from the first meeting between Lily Evans (Potter) and Severus Snape to the moment he departs to aid Harry, Hermione and Ron. And what is told in that chapter really blew my mind when I first read it, gone was the villain that had been painted and a silent hero emerged. I cried.

On Pinterest, I have come across pins centered on this love story. Here’s a couple.

Taken from my Happy Geekery board

 

This is one of my favorite love stories despite the fact that it is an unhappy one. Even after all the years, Severus loved only Lily Potter and as any Potter fan worth their salt can attest, his patronus is a remembrance of her.

 

 

 

 

13 responses »

    • Thanks, Miranda! You could always cheat and watch the movies, lol. And with those words a Harry Potter fan screams in protest somewhere, “But the books are so much better than the movies!” 🙂

      • Oh, Alex, as long as my to-read list is right now, I won’t get around to Harry Potter until I’m 80! 😛

      • Hahaha…. I know that feeling. Over 1,000 books on my wishlist and about 300 on the shelves at home (that Nicky has insisted I read, hehe). At least they’re YA, and probably quick reads?

  1. I think J.K. Rowling was wonderfully successful in humanizing Snape. She took a tricky character and allowed her readers to change their minds about him, breathing warmth and feeling into someone often misunderstood. Loved the series. 100%

    • I agree a hundred percent, Shelley! 🙂 While I did go through most of the series hoping that Snape was a good guy beneath the appearance of a villain, it was really tough to convince myself of it with the last two books. And when I got to Snape’s story in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows I was blown away by just how deeply he loved Lily and all that he did to protect Harry.

  2. I…. I haven’t read the books yet. *avoids bricks* But I just rewatched all the movies and Snape is still my favorite character. I have the books on my Kindle and am preparing to binge read fairly soon! 😀

    • Lol! Snape is one of favorite characters too, (I also love Hermione and Luna). It was a pain to wait for the next book to come out, so I’m glad you avoided that agony, lol. I hope you enjoy the series, it’s one of my favorites. 😀

Leave a reply

